Corner Post
Quarterly Newsletter of the Saskatchewan
Land Surveyors

2019 Spring Edition

Update from the Museum Committee


by Travis Wolfe


MISSION: Educating our visitors on the people, processes and technology used to survey and subdivide the Province of Saskatchewan.


I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce and thank the members of the new Museum Committee.  The members are Lee Anderson,Ben Clipperton, Dan Codling, Stephen Conway, Don Franko, James Jacobson, Wes Jamieson, Stu Hayward, Malcolm Vanstone, Gord Webster and Mike Waschuk.  Thank you for offering your time to get this great initiative up and running.


Our team has been hard at work discussing our items policy, formulating agreements with the Town of Battleford, itemizing artifacts owned by the Association and the list goes on.  I did want to highlight the work we have done preparing a collections management process and share that with the members.  After meeting with the Museum Association of Saskatchewan, we determined our best course of action would be to take items on loan. The museum will not be accepting items for donation.  Should we decide at some point to close the museum, items on loan are returned to the person who loaned it, if the museum owns the items, we first need to offer these items to other associations then look to dispose of them.  I won’t go into detail here, but it is a lengthy process and does not ensure items can remain with the Association.


We ask the members, if you have something you wish to donate, please donate these items to the Saskatchewan Land Surveyors Association.  The Association will then offer the item on loan to the museum at which time the museum committee will decide if we will display it. 


We are preparing a comprehensive registry and documentation process for items loaned to the museum to help us track and manage the item, who provided it, the history and use of the item and where items need to be returned to.  To help understand this process we have included a flow chart below showing the process.  This flow chart can also be found in the Members Only area of the website under Reference Documents – Museum Information. 


I encourage anyone who wants more information to reach out to members of the committee.  We are targeting a soft opening July 1, 2019 and hope to see you all in Battleford for the grand opening.